‘ The Samaja’, the synonym of newspapers in Odisha – a mass circulated and widely read Odia daily has completed ‘Hundred Four‘ years of its glorious publication. Founded in 1919 by a great visionary, nationalist and freedom fighter, Utkalamani Pandit Gopabandhu Das, ‘The Samaja’ stands for high standards of accuracy, authenticity and the core value of journalism.

Over the years, it has slowly transformed itself into an institution. In the annals of the post independence era, the role of ‘The Samaja’ has been instrumental in awakening the social values and contributing in the nation building process. Now, it has a readership of around Sixteen lakh having a daily circulation of nearing three lakh fifty thousand and publishing from eight places having live editions as Bhubaneswar, Berhampur, Balasore, Cuttack, Kolkata, Rourkela, Sambalpur and Vizag spreading across three States – Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and West Bengal.

‘The Samaja’, is owned and managed by ‘Servants of the People Society’ (Lok Sevak Mandal), New Delhi, a trust founded by all time legend Punjab Keshri Lala Lajpat Rai. The association of many a luminaries in course of time has enriched ‘The Samaja’. The profound and enormous contribution of Punjab Keshri Lala Lajpat Rai, Utkalamani Pandit Gopabandhu Das, Rajarshi Purushottam Das Tandon, Sri Balwant Rai Mehta, the former Prime Minister of India Sri Lal Bahadur Sahstri, former Vice-President of India Sri Krishna Kant, former Chief Minister of Odisha Shri Biswanath Dash, Padma Bhusan Dr. Radhanath Rath has left an indelible imprint in the common psyche of every Oriya as the ‘News paper of the populace’.

Apart from disseminating news, ‘The Samaja’ is committed for its social milieus and value system. The ‘Samaja Relief Committee’ has been the social face of the ‘The Samaja’ over the years. The objective has always been the welfare of the people of Odisha be it their health, education or in their time of distress during natural calamities ‘The Samaja’ reaches every door step through its relief work as a tribute to its founder Utkalmani Pt. Gopabandhu Das.